Share this story...
Utah medical marijuana law
Latest News

Utah’s first medical cannabis pharmacy is open for business

Governor Gary Herbert officially signed S.B. 121 into law Friday, days ahead of the state's first medical cannabis dispensary to open next week. (Photo: Getty Images)

SALT LAKE CITY — Dragonfly Wellness on 711 State Street in Salt Lake City is ready to dispense medical cannabis prescriptions. Tours were available to lawmakers and the media Monday morning before doors opened to the public.

Rich Oborn, the director the Utah Department of Health’s medical marijuana program, said 12 patients already received the medical cards needed to fill a prescription.

That is a quick turnaround, considering no one was allowed to apply for a medical marijuana card until 9 a.m. Sunday.  Oborn said more than 300 people applied in the first 24 hours.

But, there is a process everyone must complete before the medical cannabis cards are emailed to patients.

Requirements to get a medical cannabis card:

  • Locate a medical provider who is registered to recommend medical cannabis
  • Meet with a qualified medical provider
  • Review the electronic verification system tutorial and apply online for a card
  • Qualified medical provider issues recommendation online
  • Pay a medical cannabis card application fee online (initial: $15, first 30-day renewal: $5, six-month renewal: $15)
  • UDOH completes card application review within 15 days (patients 21+ with qualifying condition) or 90 days (under age 21 or adults without qualifying condition)
  • Patient receives card and can purchase from a pharmacy

Oborn says the second medical marijuana pharmacy is expected to open later this month.  And a third in April.  A total of 14 pharmacies were approved across the Beehive State to dispense the medical marijuana.

Under those approvals, pharmacies working in coordination with county health departments will be allowed to make door-to-door deliveries.

Under provisions in the law, the Utah Department of Agriculture and the Utah Department of Health can also recommend that the state license more pharmacies than the original 14 based on market demand.

Go to medicalcannabis.utah.gov for more information.