Share this story...
Pres. Nelson announces six new temples
Latest News

President Nelson announces sites for six new temples

President Russell M. Nelson speaks during the Sunday morning session of the 190th Semiannual General Conference of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints on Oct. 4, 2020. Credit: Intellectual Reserve, Inc.

SALT LAKE CITY — The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints will build six new temples, including another in Utah.

The announcement was made by President Russell M. Nelson during his concluding remarks at the 190th Semiannual General Conference of the church.

The new temples will be in the following locations:

  • Tarawa, Kiribati
  • Port Vila, Vanuatu
  • Lindon, Utah
  • Greater Guatemala City, Guatemala
  • Sao Paulo East, Brazil
  • Santa Cruz, Bolivia

“As we build and maintain these temples, we pray that each of you will build and maintain yourself so you can be worthy to enter the holy temple,” said President Nelson.

President Nelson also took the time to review the temporary closure of all Church temples, enforced due to the global COVID-19 pandemic, and the phased plan to reopen these temples.

“With Phase 2 now in place in many temples, thousands of couples have been sealed, and thousands have received their own endowments just in the past few months,” President Nelson said. “We look forward to the day when all worthy members of the Church can again serve their ancestors — and worship — in a holy temple.”

Phase 2 allows for the performance of all temple ordinances for living individuals. Phase 1 allows for only limited husband-and-wife sealings.